Man Of Steel A Review

23 Aug

Image

So just watched Man of Steel and my goodness do I love Henry Cavil I mean come on for this movie the man has muscles on top of muscles and the perfect stereotypical nerdy face when he wears glasses (see end of the movie for it).

Image

But seriously he is a super nice guy as far as his interviews go anyways (look at the abs. on him!). ok I think I am done objectifying a human  being now. I like him in The Tudors as well so it is not all because of the perfection of his superficial muscles.

I think this was done very well, while I am not a Superman fan (more towards Batman detective comics in the DC universe actually) Superman as a character was well done. He is the all-red-blodded-American boy who just happens to have super powers and save people. He is raised in Kansas and is as wholesome and pure as white bread, in farm country. if there is one thing you never do to a boy like that (well man) is threaten his mother which is very clear in this movie, to which I say well done because Superman would never stand for that kind of un-wholesome behavior. 

I liked that they had him do a trial flying attempt before he was able to just shoot up into the sky leaving a crater behind him and it was a bit of homage to the original comic version where he is only able to leap tall building. 

Ultimately he did what Superman does which is in most cases just hit buildings with the villain of the day. I thought that he had all the appropriate Superman emotional responses, and a well deserved costume change.

Image

Now to Lois Lane, I like Amy Adams as her because she had the right spirit essentially Lois Lane is just a reporter who stops at nothing to get her story (no matter how many people she hurts or reputation she trashes just so she can get her story no matter how…). I like the fact that they made her not as unaware as previous Lanes. I mean after all she is a reporter and not a single one of them really ever became aware of the fact that Clark Kent and Superman were the same person. For crying out loud he only has glasses on! (as someone with glasses we do not change that much no matter what the media is obviously trying to imply) But Yeah she is a smart (or at least a good reporter who just kissed a guy and he does not change because he now wears glasses) reporter who did her thing and now knows all that she must know. 

I just liked this aspect of the movie. 

Now to the utmost pressing Issue which brings me to write about Superman 

Image

As you may be aware there will be a Superman meets Batman movie coming out where the old switch-aroo will be pulled for Batman since the last Batman movie left us with only Robin (though should have been Dick I would have even accepted Richard) Grayson. Ben Affleck has been announced to be the Batman. I honestly hope with all my heart that this is not another Dare Devil catastrophe, because you know we all pretend there was no such thing as a Dare Devil movie.

In other news of hoping maybe DC will work it’s way up to a JLA movie though preferably a Wonder Woman movie should happen before. (Come one DC I would even settle for a Hawk man and Hawk woman movie) as long as they do include all the original JLA members such as Martian Man Hunter and all other mentioned above. If it does happen I think a Green Lantern Movie would be remade for it or there might be another switch in the superhero musical costume game. Either way I will be happy if a good wonder woman walks in a beats both Batman and Superman in the intro to man’s world. 

So that is it for my Nerdy news, let me know you thoughts on the DC universe movies.

Leave a Reply

