Adventures in South Korea: Survival Game

14 Sep

tumblr_n2w6jrJwCU1rsz0uoo10_250

So, I did stuff!! (yay me!) I have never been to paintball but according to this awesome show community. Getting two teams together and battling it out for ultimate survival, in an arena with paintball guns sound like the best experience ever.

So I saw some fliers showing paintball in them in South Korea and I decided that this would be he time I would make a plan and make people go (unfortunately being here for only a few months, and having a bit of a social awkwardness to my name, did not grant me enough social pull to make people come to it, but more on that later). I also admittedly am not really good at the making plans thing.

But this time I did my homework, I searched the internet for places near Samcheok and I found nothing (this was mostly due to the fact that, most of the websites where in Korean, and the little English did not quite make sense to me) so I did what I always do (since I have been in South Korea and became aware that this was an actual thing) and called the ever so helpful  1330 tourist info line. They gave me a number of the closest Survival game place (because according to the internet this is what they call paintball games here).

I have to say the man does not really speak English but he made more of an effort that the other places I tried to call which was nice. I set a time and he gave me a price along with his address. The price was actually great 10,000 won per person per hour, and well the address I sort of had to go to the actual info center to get a better address (because I was way off).

The owner even went as far as messaging me on Kakao talk (which if you don’t know it is an awesome message system widely used in Korea).

So Where is this place in Gangneung (remember the place I wanted to go to but accidentally got sent to Gangnam instead?). I handed the address to a cab driver who had to input it in his GPS (this may not sound like a big deal but usually cab drivers have been everywhere and never need to input things on their GPS systems).  This place is a bit remote, we (the three of us awesome enough to go to this) were dropped off on the side of the road (only 6,00 won for the cab ride from the bus terminal btw) and I then proceeded to call the man and ask him how we wound ever get to this battle ground (Battle Ground is actually the name of the place), he told me to wait at the parking lot where there is a restaurant and tennis/sport court and he came to meet us and lead us to the battle grounds.
20140906_185844

Which were really nice actually there are several, crates that can be used as shields (you do have to be careful because this gets real and that means really big spiders everywhere) and trees.

20140906_185847 20140906_185919

ok so here is the thing this was not paint ball, this was more like laser tag. You got fitted with sensors and the gun lets you know when you are out of lives.

20140906_185923

That being said, it was like being n a video game, once you got shot you had to re-spawn and hope someone does not shoot at you as soon as you do. The gun vibrated as game controllers do when you got shot and it would even make a death noise. You had to press a button in the gun to recharge, and head shots felt awesome to do.

20140906_185929

I have to mention the bugs, there were many of them and also the bugs in Samcheok are fairly unreal, and awesome to look at.

20140906_185956 20140906_190027

The whole experience was really great, and like I said earlier larger team would have been nice specially if you get theatrical about it. But the owner gave us water in the middle of the game and was really cool and exited (he actually told us he had made all of his own equipment, how awesome is that?!).

20140906_192653

If you are interested, The name is Battle Ground in Gangneung acreoss from the beach and a military base (not sure if that speaks to you or not, but the beaches in Gangneung are really nice). The phone number is 010-3263-5620 if you are interested, if you get into it it will be awesome.

Leave a Reply

